Your Interests Aren’t Mine, Maybe

Last night on Facebook I posted a link to a Marilyn Mason cover of ‘This Is Halloween‘ cover that someone else had shared, commenting on how I didn’t much care for the original version but really liked that cover version of it. It got a few likes and a single comment, a comment I find infuriatingly condescending and rude and just plain pointless: “Are you just now hearing this version?” Well, one can reasonably assume that since I’m posting about it saying how much I’m enjoying for the first time- and more than the other version that, yes, I am just now hearing it for the first time.

So what?

This is something geeks in particular like to do, some sort of discovery hipsterism. They’ll act surprised or vaguely offended and superior for knowing about something that I didn’t know about. As if I could possibly know about every single cover that came out, or that I cared about every single cover that came out. I think “The Nightmare Before Christmas” is a perfectly fine movie, but it never struck the same chord with me as it did with others so I’m not obsessively looking for new things in that particular geekdom. And more to the point it shouldn’t be expected that I am looking for anything in that particular geekdom. Marilyn Manson and “The Nightmare Before Christmas” aren’t areas where my interests particularly overlap.

There is just too much in the world for anyone to know about all of it, okay? I’m sure I could ramble off bands and books and movies and games you’ve never read or played or listened to or watched, but so what? I’d recommend a lot of them to you but I’m not going to act surprised or offended or even superior because we’ve different life experiences, interests, availability, and desire for discovery. It’s exactly the same as people flipping out when others haven’t played game X or watched movie Y or heard song Z. People’s interests overlap, but sometimes they don’t- and that is fine. When you act smug and superior or surprisingly condescending toward me for the inevitability that you will have experienced something that I haven’t it just makes me want to never listen to any recommendations you’ll ever give me.

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

