Forgetting Food

Today is going to be a long day because- fuck– I forgot to bring food to work today. So my best bets for sustenance until I get home around 4pm this afternoon are: coffee, water, four day old bagels, and cream cheese. Not exactly thrilling prospects for the day. But it does lead to an interesting, if mundane, observation about my world: the amount of eagerness with which I approach a day is directly related to how excited I am about the food I have to eat.

Normally I have a protein shake/breakfast shake/whatever the hell you want to call them in the morning. That’s a baseline level of excitement, they’re not bad, they not amazing, they’re middle of the road and a day that starts like that will start just fine. A day on which my Graze.com box shows up and I get to have a shake and nuts or a granola bar is off to a much better start and my mood lifts accordingly. Sometimes, if I’m really lucky, I get to have raspberries as well and then it’s like, time to start dancing in the streets because today is going to be amazing.

For lunch it’s usually leftovers from dinner the previous evening which isn’t nearly as bad as it sounds because, well, we don’t eat shitty food. Some of it isn’t as good the second day, some of it is better the second day, but almost never do we make something at home and not enjoy it. I’ve nothing against eating delicious food two days in a row, so despite this being the norm for me it actually has me in a generally good mood come lunch time just because the leftover food I make is generally better than anything anyone else has for lunch. (Seriously, most of them go to Whataburger while I’m here eating green curry with coconut rice.) Sometimes I also splurge and get a sub from Jimmy John’s because, hey, I really like their sandwiches and they have chips I really enjoy! That’s a good way to get me to work through the day, because the thought of a delicious sub eagerly anticipating being in my belly is a thought worth having.

But today. Today I’m going to drink a ton of water. Woo. This puts my mood somewhere between ‘please god let it end’ and ‘look at me cross and I’ll cut you.’

Tuesdays.

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

