Attack on Titan, No Thanks

Dear anime fans of the world: stop getting mad at me because I refuse to watch anymore ‘Attack on Titan’. Yeah, the show has the creepy titans and it has decent enough animation, but neither of those things are enough to keep my interest. And sure, after five or six episodes the show may just get a lot better than it had been, I don’t doubt that. Quite possibly it could be the best anime to come out in the last five years, though I’d find that claim extremely dubious, and it still wouldn’t get me interested in watching another episode of ‘Attack on Titan’.

Why?

Because I don’t want to. I watched two episodes, found them tedious and boring, and decided I was done with the show. I would ever-so-kindly ask that you respect my choice. It isn’t anything personal against ‘Attack on Titan’, really, the show and I just didn’t mesh. It shouldn’t be required of me to invest hours upon hours of my life into show I’ve taken an immediate dislike to, just because you love the show and want me to love it as well. And don’t think I don’t appreciate you trying to show me awesome new things! I love finding new things, and I love showing you new things. But there’s a difference between introducing me to a thing and seeing if I like it and demanding that I consume something and enjoy it as much as you do. First of all: how boring would a world where we all liked the same stuff be? Secondly: fuck you. Thirdly: I don’t give a shit if you’re disappointed it’s my choice.

I’ve missed out on other great things before. No ‘Angel’, or ‘Buffy’, for me. Still haven’t seen Titanic and only recently saw Goodfellas. I haven’t read the Mistborn novels or played ‘Grand Theft Auto’ IV or V. Still have yet to listen to a Grateful Dead album. And so what? There are more wonderful things to do and see and consume in this world than anyone will ever have time for. Why fret that the most recent popular thing isn’t being consumed by me (or anyone else)? Your enjoyment of the show shouldn’t depend on if other people are watching it, though it can certainly enhance your enjoyment, you should love anything for what it is.

You don’t need me to justify your enjoyment of something, and I don’t need you to justify my enjoyment either.

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

