I Think She’s Lying To Me

Seriously. Why the hell would I want a window seat on an airplane? I mean, my motion sickness isn’t that horrible, but asking for a window seat is like asking for a punch in the stomach after you found out you ate rotten fish. Insult to injury, as they say. But a small price to pay to have five days off, four of which will be sent in Vegas. And two of which will be spent at MineCon!

I’m a little wary about MineCon, since it’s the first year and all. We were looking at the schedule of events for it and there’s almost two hours devoted to a keynote address and the Minecraft launch, which seems like a hell of a lot of time to fill just to talk about how your game is finally getting a 1.xx version release. I imagine there will be a lot of talk about Minecraft being the best selling game in a long time (ever?) while still technically in alpha and beta modes. Some of the panels seem interesting, and we’ve already planned out what we want to see, but they’re mostly community driven panels which can be awesome or, like most of the internet, poorly researched meandering thoughts filled with semi-coherent ramblings about the topic at hand. It’s possible that all of my worries about MineCon will be for naught, and that it will be the coolest convention I have ever been to (if nothing else, I won’t have to worry about freaky otaku or comic nerds [as much]) but this being the first year and all, I have my doubts. If I come away with a Minecraft hoodie, I’d consider it a smashing success though.

I’m writing this entry from the front page of wordpress using the ‘quick post’ option, and I have to say that I’m not a fan. Sure, it has the basic functionality of “here’s a text box so go ahead and fill that in with your meandering and worthless thoughts, meat bag” which is typically enough for me and an entry. (If you haven’t noticed, my blog entries aren’t exactly highly stylized.) The thing that kills me about this functionality, though, is how small the text box itself is. The box scrolls with more content you add, obviously, but the visible portions of the text box are actually quite small. Despite having a cognitive knowledge that the box will scroll almost indefinitely as I write, I feel that I’m being overly verbose when I fill the box and haven’t made a new paragraph, and I doubt I’m alone. It might be wordpress’ way of trying to get people to post less, in order to save bandwidth, or it might solely be intended for the usage of really short blog entries.

Eh.

I took today off work as well, just so I would have time to work on an article for Real Otaku Gamer, and maybe spend some more time playing Saints Row: The Third. Which, despite all I would have ever guessed, is a really damn good game. Mostly because it never even attempts to take itself seriously, in a really great way.

100 posts. Yay.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

