Anticipation

It’s happening today, gentle readers, today is the launch of “the most anticipated video game in history!” No, no, not Skyrim, silly, but Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. Oh my god, it is going to be so amazingly intense. I predict that there will be: guns, ‘plot twists’, men yelling, Russians dying, a ‘shocking’ scene, and a world monument or two being blown up. Which is just what we can expect from the single player! Then, for the multiplayer, we can expect: bigotry, misogyny, men yelling, broken controllers, e-peens, all revolving around a game that, for all intents and purposes, appears to be a glorified map-pack of Modern Warfare 2.

To say I am not excited for this game is a wee bit of an understatement.

My excitement not withstanding, MW3 wouldn’t really be on my radar at all, save as another man-shoot FPS, except that, oh yeah, Activision kinda wasn’t lying about that whole “most anticipated game” thing. Maybe it is, maybe it isn’t, but if the sales are anything to go by Activision isn’t really stretching it too far. Granted, the game isn’t out yet but if one looks at our number of pre-orders for Batman, Gears of War 3, Uncharted, and Battlefield those combined numbers exceed what we have for Modern Warfare 3 by only 100 or so units. These titles will be dwarfed in comparison to Modern Warfare 3, and anyone who thinks otherwise is deluding themselves. And, again, I don’t really care about Modern Warfare 3, because I’m more or less over the modern manshoots.

I *do* care how it affects my job, though. See, today is the midnight launch. We expect well over 400 people (some estimates as high as 700) and it’s a ‘all hands on deck’ sort of night. We did this last year for Black Ops, and it was a fine shift and a fine night, all said and done, but there’s a couple of things which are going to make this midnight launch suck a lot more than the last one: I live 40-50 minutes away from my job, and we aren’t going to close until 1am. Yeah. If I have to stay and close I won’t be getting home before two in the morning, easily. Huzzahs. At least I have Tuesday off. Compound that with the fact that my shift starts at 1pm, and I am just so wonderfully agog at how long I’m going to be at work, close to 13 hours, and then how long I get to spend driving back home. Oh, I’m all a-giddy with anticipation.

So help me god corporate had better have gotten my pay-rate fixed.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

