The Lone Starred Snow

Oh, yeah, I guess I moved to Texas. Ha.

I got back from New Zealand on the 7th of August, and Jacqueline picked me up from the airport. It was a bit nerve wracking, after travelling for close to 30 hours to meet up with someone I hadn’t seen in years. Was I going to just fall on my face, or cry, or vomit, or eat my shoes? That last one seems like an especially bad idea, I really shouldn’t eat my shoes. (Again.) To everyone’s surprise, I was not a huge flaming idiot and did not embarrass myself in front of her! Which is, of course, to say that I did embarrass myself *after* she turned her back, but let’s not get into that, shall we? ‘Kay. We went back to Melanie’s place from there, and then we all went out for delicious Japanese food. Yay Japanese food! Then sleep.

During the following week we went and did cool things, saw the Dallas Aquarium, went back to Arkansas and got my car and some stuff for my apartment, ate at some neat places, hung out a lot, made giant bubbles, played Catherine. You know, the usual. But in DALLAS! (Well, Arlington really.) Once this week rolled around I put my nose to the grinder and started seriously looking for jobs and apartments, the apartment front is going way better than the job front. I found a place fairly close to everything that is about 460 a month for a studio (large!) apartment, on the first floor, with easy pool access, a gym, lots of trees, and covered parking. On the whole, it’s a pretty nice place and I think I’d be happy living there. Plus I could finally setup my epic multi-box nerd room! BWHAHAHAHA?!

I had a job interview today with the VCS at the VA, in which I would basically be an assistant manager for the VA canteens. It seems like a standard enough job, and the hours are pretty good (630a to 330p M-F), and the pay would be about where I was hoping to end up at a minimum. Plus! Government benefits. Oh yeah. The only thing that really scares me about the job is that I would have to commit to a “go here when we tell you to” schedule, which basically means that I would have to up and leave whenever the VA wanted me to move to a different position in a new place. And unless it was really awesome, or a place where I knew people, I’d probably just quit. I’m not opposed to moving to new places, obviously, but I’ve always wanted to do it on my own terms *not* when someone else demands that I show up. That irks me to no end. Surprising no one, of course.

Initial impressions of Dallas are pretty favorable, actually, aside from a couple of things which are just *beyond* irksome. The sprawl. My god the sprawl. The Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex is around seven million people, and takes up 9,300 some odd square miles. By comparison, the Seoul metro area has upwards of twenty-two million people (almost four times the size of Dallas/Fort Worth) but is around 3,000 square miles, three times less area than Dallas/Fort Worth. That’s absurd. It means that public transit is almost non-existent, and that driving is the only way to get somewhere reliably, but you have to take the massive almost perpetually under-construction highways of doom. Ugh. The second problem with the Dallas area is the damn *heat*. My god, they’re going on 40 some odd days with 100+ degree weather. That’s just utterly insane. Summer! GLOBAL WARMING IS REAL, DAMN YOU!

Not much else to comment on at the moment. Life is life is life is life.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

