Hello, World!

Hello, World is the first program that you end up creating when you start learning a new programming language. This program is incredibly simple, the jist of it is as follows (assuming C++ programming): cout >> “Hello, World!” That’s it. And with that little string of text, you can make your computer display words on your screen. And that’s it. Yet it is from that little building block that you van construct programs so complicated that they will, within a 99 percent accuracy, guess what fictional character you are thinking of out of millions of choices. As with all things in life, a series of small and simple changes can make for fantastic results. Why do I bring this up? Well. I think the “Hello, World!” program is a pretty good analogy of my life right now. I’m at the base level of something, the difference is that I can’t figure out what am I at the base level of. I don’t know, to beat the analogy to death, what language my life is programming in.

And I am utterly terrified of it.

I know this is a recurring theme in here, my lack of direction, but this time it is different. This time it feels like whatever choice I make will become permanent. If I choose to go back to AR, that will be my home forever. If I go to STL, I will settle there. I don’t like this feeling, I don’t want to have to choose between two alternatives I don’t enjoy.

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello, World!

  1. Tory says:

    STL? St Louis? what ever happened to moving to Dallas?

Leave a Reply

