The Ongoing Adventures of Not Sucking At Magic

Okay, so I’ve decided- out of all things- that the one thing I am really good at (and actually have a passion for) is Magic the Gathering. Which means that I am going to try and play the game as much as I can, in hopes of getting better at it and maybe making some headway into my dream of working for Wizards of the Coast. But that is in the future. For now, work on being a better Magic player.

To that end, I decided to play in a tournament online tonight. I was actually doing well the first round, though I missed out on a few optimal plays, but the second round I acted like an idiot and didn’t sideboard in Smash to Smithereens against a main decked Jitte. What in the hell. So that probably ended up costing me the game, but that was an acceptable sideboarding mistaking. (Okay, it wasn’t acceptable but it at least made sense given how little I know of the extended Metagame.)

What is NOT excusable however, was what I did the next game.

I won the first game, easily. He pulled the second game out at the end, due to the annoying as shit Jitte, and we’re on to game three. He’s at ONE life, I’m at 12. He’s stabilized though, and my burn deck is rapidly running out of fuel. He casts at Mistbind Clique and somehow locks his own lands down and not my own. Awesome. I have a rift bolt in hand, and I can win this shit.

I suspend it.

FUCK. All I had to do was pay attention, not zone out and auto-play, and win the damn game and go to the finals. But no. I give some fuck-stick who can’t think beyond playing faeries in extended the win after he fucks up. I *rewarded* bad behavior. Ugh. I am disgusted with myself. But not really. I know what I did wrong, and I damn well better learn from it.

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

