Thanks Jessica!

Wow, Facebook was actually really useful for me today! I was sitting at my desk languishing about what I could possibly write about when suddenly: Jessica Landis posted a video! Excellent, for normally the things that she posts are ridiculous and it may very well give me something to piss and moan about. Assah! Check out the video here.

So basically, this guy is complaining about shitty customer service in which people who are nice get treated poorly, and do not get what they want because the ‘douche bag’ customer service people are just douche bags. Oh man oh man oh man. My first problem with this video, amongst many, is that he operates under the assumption that if a customer service rep doesn’t do exactly what you, the customer, want them to that they are being an asshole. This is part of the ‘customer is always right’ logic, and it is asinine in the extreme. The customer is not always right, and the CSR (because I am lazy) is not always wrong.

While I have certainly dealt with some poor CSRs in my time, I have also dealt with some really great ones and more often than not I have gotten good customer service. Maybe I’m just lucky. But I won’t deny that bad CSRs exist, and I don’t mean ones who won’t do what you tell them to- I mean ones who are just flat out rude, but they are few and far between; we just remember the shitty ones because those stick out in our minds. But I digress. In his video, which he posits as something that happened to him, he calls a credit card company and says “Hey, my card got defrauded and I forgot which companies I was using this card for automatic billing on and you guys charged me for being late with my payment and I was wondering if I could get a refund.” (Emphasis my own.) Now, remove the defrauded part from the equation for a moment. Would anyone ever think that “I forgot which companies I was using auto billing with” would be a valid excuse for late payment? No, probably not. So why does ‘I got defrauded’ change this picture? Because you had to deal with the stress and hassle and problems with getting it fixed- I understand that. What I don’t understand, and this is why he has no leg to stand on, is why he didn’t have records of who was billed to what. It is not the credit card company’s fault that you can’t keep accurate record of your own finances. As he said, other companies refunded him his late fees but they were under no obligation to do so and if one decides not to refund him his late fees: they did not have to and that should be the end of the story.

But no, he pulls the “This is bullshit I’m going to yell” card and has the audacity to blame it on the CSR! The CSR did not defraud you, the CSR did not forget who you were paying with what, the CSR did not miss a payment, the CSR did not make the bank’s policy, the CSR did nothing except state the company policy. Maybe the CSR was douchey about it, who knows, since we don’t have an original recording. Even if the CSR was, it does not give the customer the right to throw a tantrum because you disagree with the policy. His entire argument can be summed up as this: Other people gave me money back, though they could have just said no, but you won’t give me money back, even though just like the other companies you don’t have to at all, so I’m going to piss and moan and yell and scream and whine some because I can’t remember where I’m spending my money. Waaaaaah.

And, of course, the CSR eventually gets him his money back because he was an asshole. The irony is overwhelming. “How do you stop CSRs from being douchebags! Oh I know, be a douchebag when according to all logic and reason you’re in the wrong and get your way regardless! YAY!”

That youtube video is why contempt for customers, and our bullshit ‘the customer is always right’ attitude, is almost exactly equal for my contempt of business practices writ large. Both sides are fucking idiots, and the sooner they admit it and stop going ‘Waaaaah, I fucked up gimme money’ and start going ‘Shit, I fucked up. Better remember that in the future.’ the sooner we’ll all have an economy worth supporting.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

