Coming This Sunday Only!

I always wanted to go see a monster truck show, not because I really loved monster trucks- or because I wanted to see smaller cars get crushed- or because it just sounded totally exciting hanging out with a bunch of drunk smelly rednecks. I really wanted to go to see if the announcers talked like they did in the commericals.

“Aaaaaaaaaaaand here comes the CRUSHINATOR! Crushinator…! CRUUUSHINATOR…!” I think the entire experience would be worth it if they spoke nouns in triplicate every time. At the very least people couldn’t claim that they didn’t hear the announcements.

I’m not really sure where I was going with that, but it seemed like a good way to begin talking about Sundays in general. (Since, as far as I can remember, all the Monster Truck shows were on Sunday. Of course that could just be some sort of horrible bias on my part. Very likely.) Regardless of my memory biases, I am going to talk about Sundays because today is Sunday and the writing part of my brain hasn’t kicked in yet so this will probably be a few hundred words of me saying things like “AND THEN 14 DUCKS MAKE 12 GRAMS OF SOUP!”

So yesterday was the big MTGO Pauper Weekend Challenge. I decided that I had a decent chance at going to top 8, or maybe to 16, and decided to enter it for a measly six dollars. I was playing a Mono Black Control U deck, and actually almost lost both games of the first match but managed to stabilize with one life left (in both games!) due to a well timed Corrupt. Match 2 was a whole different story, aside from some really dumb plays on my part, the deck was very good at out classing me. I discovered this was due to me missing four very important cards: Probe, Deep Analysis, Innocent Blood, and Cruel Edict. The cost of my deck, before looking at those cards, was about 4 dollars. The total cost of my deck if I decided to purchase 4 of each of those cards? 50 dollars. I’m not even remotely kidding either. For me to be competitive in a format titled “Pauper” I would actually have to spend more money on my deck than I would a deck in which I could use expensive cards. MTGO is a truly bizarre place sometimes. But hey, I had fun so I can’t be too upset about that.

Today I plan on doing a M10 draft or two, then working on my programming and/or working on my VN. Last night I discovered an open source program to create VNs with and now I’m all excited about having a real project to work on so that I can actually do some writing!

…Not that this isn’t writing…

Tomorrow the update may be a little off schedule, I’m going to be doing job interviews and what not from about 9am to 3pm. I may not even feel like writing an update, though write an update I shall!, so don’t expect much more than “I am tired. Fuck you.”

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

