Dashing Hopes

Some of you knew, but most of your probably didn’t know, that last night was round one of the Magic the Gathering Pro-Tour Qualifiers for Pro-Tour San Diego. Some of you may be now thinking “What the fuck, Magic has a pro-tour?!” Yes, it does. And if you qualify for the pro-tour they fly you to the tournament loacation, give you a room, and the chance to win 20k+ dollars per event. So it was a bitchin’ chance for me.

The tournament started at 7 pm last night, and from 3pm to 7pm I pretty much was a nervous wreck. I tried to read a book, but every other page I would look up at the MTGO client to see if I had missed any new information about the PTQ- maybe they were going to suddenly let more people in! Maybe there was some sort of strategy I was going to miss! Oh I don’t know, too many possibilities! SO I just kept looking, and waiting, and watching, and not working on my C++ like I fucking should have been. Then my dad comes home from work, which was a good distraction as we got to talk about how excited I was about the tournament and oh man oh man oh man, but then my parents left to go to Sam’s Club. Great. I wander- pace is more accurate I suppose- the house, doing dishes, cleaning, playing with the dogs, eating, cleaning (if you want me to clean, tell me to be somewhere and a hour before hand I’ll get antsy and start cleaning) and so on.

Finally! Six fifty five rolls around. I’m at my computer, I have my note taking paper ready to go. Let’s do this! I’m ready! 7:00 pm. GO GO GO! I open my six booster packs and look at my cards: not very exciting. While I definetly have some good cards (Magebane Armor + Deadly Recluse comes to mind) there’s nothing I’m incredibly excited about. Captain of the Watch is good, but the rest of my white is utterly pathetic. I splash red for bolt, fireball, and a pyromancer but I only manage to pull one of each of those and the only other semi-playable thing from red was Jackal Familiar. (I’ll spare you the link.) Regardless, I managed to pull off what I felt was a strong defensive U/G/R deck that would lock down the ground and air game with high toughness low attack creatures, and send across a win with my Overrun or ping them to death with the pyromancer/ Rod of Ruin combo.

Believe me non-Magic players, I won’t bore you with the details for much longer. Round one game one starts, and I’m off to a decent start. I have the ground locked down against his Black Knight and I have Ice Caged his Dread Warlock. He plays a Gargoyle Castle, and I equip my Horned Turtle with the Magebane Armor and drop a Borderland Ranger and I swing with my Turtle. He sacs the castle, makes a token, and on his turn comes across for 5. No big deal, at least not yet. Then he taps out to play a Craw Wurm, with me holding my Negate.  I have no choice but to let it resolve, and barring a Deadly Recluse draw very soon, resign myself to a match one loss. I pass the turn, draw a card (forest), and play a Rod of Ruin, and prepare to pass my turn.

Suddenly, I am surrounded by complete and utter darkness. Not six minutes into my first match of one of the most important tournaments I’ve ever played, my power goes out. For tow and a half hours. I’m not too terribly pleased by this, but there is absolutely nothing I can do. So I have a couple of beers, sit in the candle light with my parents, and fall asleep on the couch listening to the rain. Not much else to do for it I suppose. Honestly, my chances weren’t that great to begin with- I know that- but I would have felt a hundred times better about losing that tournament had I lost it on my own merits, not because the power went out and my opponnent got free wins.

Oh well, there’s always next week.

Before I forget! A quick poll: Should I invest more money in paper Magic the Gathering, or more in Online Magic the Gathering? The benefits of paper magic are: more real life interaction and on average lower cost of product (boosters and the like) and real changes to my DCI number (my global ranking). Online benefits: far easier tournament access (whenever I want it) far more prizes, not to mention the possibility of free tournaments due to trading prizes for tickets. Let me know!

-Snow

(And just because I know no one got it, the title of this post is a play off the name of a MTG card. Bonus points for whoever guesses it right.)

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dashing Hopes

  1. Marie says:

    Ouch. That sucks. Power outages are lame.

Leave a Reply

