The Dearth of Longevity

Yeah, I think it’s a stupid title too.

Though I do think I have some sort of point with the title, you’ll just have to bear with me as I try and write the whole thing out and move away from 830 groginess to 840 baddassery (yes, I just made up two words in the same sentence, if you don’t like it I suggest you mash altf4 like 10 times.) For anyone who has been paying even a tiny bit of attention to science and health news lately, they will know that the life span of humanity has been increasing- on average- over the past two hundred years or so. That is awesome. I’m happy to know that I am not considered to be an old man at the age of 23, or that I am nearly half way through my life, with maybe only another 20 years to go. I am pleased by these facts.  What is *not* pleasing unto me, is that everyone else- on average- is expected to live as long or longer than I am.

Not that I hate all of humanity, though I certainly do dislike large swaths of it, I just really don’t want to spend the rest of my life competing for resource with the rest of these jerk offs, especially since a lot of these jerk offs are going to decide to have kids so then there will be even *fewer* resources for those of us already living on the planet- oh joy! I might not get to eat a Ruben because we all decided that we just couldn’t live without a pwecious widdle babeeeee to bring some light into our otherwise sad exsistence. I don’t really care if people want kids, it’s their life, what bothers me is that people just assume that you have to have make a baby in order to fufill yourself as a human being. I assure you people, we are well past the point where humanity might start to suffer if half of you women folk out there decide not to have kids. (Since, obviously, us male folk can’t have kids. Oh lord, that is a disturbing thought.) Okay, so people may want to have kids because they geniuenly desire to have kids in their live(s) and that isn’t really a problem for me- people like that will actually probably try and raise their kids properly and ensure that the children may not actually just be a waste of resources. I approve of this. But if you’re going to have a child simply because you think it is what you must do “as a human being” or “because god says so” I think I have a business end of a sword you may be interested in.

Funny that I couldn’t think of anything better to write about today. Oh well. Just so everyone keeps up with the news, because I know you’re waiting in rapt attention for news of my life, but my computer is sorta fixed. I need someone’s XP or Vista install disc so I can acutally see if the repairs worked or if I get to pay 80 more dollars to finish getting it fixed. Yay. Oh well! Time for me to exercise!

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dearth of Longevity

  1. Laura S says:

    I will not have any babies! But that is cuz im far too immature and selfish! and i do not want to create a baby human who has to put up with the shit that i have to put up with! (and you’ve met some prime examples of the shit im talking about during your time out here) or even worse the baby human will become the drunk Irish girls you talk about in your march entry!! oh no no no i cant do that!

  2. Marie says:

    I so agree with this post. And on a similar note, I am so tired of people being shocked when I say we aren’t having kids and saying “oh, you’ll change your mind” or “you hate kids?!” I don’t hate kids. I don’t mind them, generally. But I don’t want my own, and even if I did, Brandon and I would have to go off of our medications to conceive, and then our kid would probably have at least some of our health problems. Why bother? And then they give us the “you could adopt” crap. No. We don’t want kids. That isn’t a crime. Leave us alone. Fail.

  3. Jessica says:

    Too true. I am feeling a lot of pressure and stress to keep up with my friends, who are breeding uncontrollably (it seems). I do not want kids. I want a puppy.

    To elaborate on your first paragraph, it is worrisome that we could see a generation gap where inheritances are withheld from younger people longer, and compound interest benefits the rich disproportionately.

Leave a Reply

