ERROR: In big blood red letters.

Man, I love sleep. I used to be one of those people who thought it was all cool and trendy to try and avoid sleep as much as possible and pretend like hated sleep because it was just a “waste of time, think what I could get done if I didn’t sleep!” I fully and forever renounce these attitudes, and I call my past self a giant fucking moron for ever thinking that sleep isn’t a wonderful and necessary part of being a human being. I adore sleep, it makes me happy in ways that almost nothing else can. Even if I have a horrible dream, I still love sleep because it means my body is relaxing and I am relaxing and that the world will be there in the morning and I will face it relaxed, rested, and ready to go.

Of course, we all know that is a lie.

My mother woke me up this morning by knocking on the door to my room, something which never happens. Most days I am left to my own devices and am only bothered whenever something important has happened which requires my oh so specialized skills. Today, the refrain was “Diva (one of our dogs) knocked your computer off the desk.” That’s something everyone wants to hear when they first wake up, right? So I groggily walk downstairs with practically no clothes on to survey the damage. My mouse is in a far corner of the room (which is probably how Diva pulled it down, she grabbed the mouse cord and ran with it) my wallet and cell phone are lying near the computer itself, and the computer- CAT-5 cable still firmly attached- is lying in the middle of the floor showing an error screen something along the lines of “Windows fucked up. Re-install that bitch so you can make your shit work again.” Of course, I don’t immediately do that- it’d be far too easy for a computer nerd like me. So I dick around with restarts and BIOS and what not for 15 minutes then realize I’m not sure what I’m looking for. So I put in the windows recovery disk and set windows to reinstall. Then I realize I’m in way over my head here.

Fifteen seconds after it starts, the windows installer brings up a screen that says “ERROR” in a font size that quite literally takes up the whole screen, in pure crimson. It honestly looked like something straight out of a horror movie, with a message from the murderer written in blood on the walls (screen). And I think that message actually does indicate that a murder has happened here, since an error of that magnitude means (hopefully) that my disc drive is shot which is a fairly cheap repair or: my motherboard/HDD are fucked up which, in a laptop, means go buy yourself a new laptop and don’t let your fucking dog drag it around the house anymore you dipshit. I could be wrong here, I certainly hope that I am, but I get the feeling that I’m not and that this is going to be stretching an already stretched thin budget.

Great.

Horrible as all of that is, it is further compounded by the fact that Ami and I had to reschedule our weekly video chat since I’m a moron and forgot all about it. When do you think we decided to reschedule it? If you said today, you aren’t a giant moron and get an e-cookie from me! So not only is my computer fucked up, but now I don’t even get to video chat with the woman I am in love with, and whom I really needed to talk to just to help alleviate this bizarre fuege I have hanging around my head. In case anyone hasn’t figured this out by now, I am indeed writing on a different computer which is currently in posession by my parents. Just so you don’t think I’m writing this from the future or something. Which, would be pretty cool I must admit.

My list of things to do for the day went up, and I am not pleased with that at all. Bah.

Here’s a question for my readership (laf): at what price should I say fuck it to the repairs and just buy a new computer? I just wiped my current computer’s HDD so there isn’t much of anything I’d miss on it (save my bookmarks, but whatever) so it really is just an issue of cost. Should I say to hell with it if the repairs will cost as much a new decent laptop? A mini-pc? Where will it end?! Please, let me know what you think.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ERROR: In big blood red letters.

  1. Matty B says:

    You know, if you get the Foxmarks addon to Firefox, then you can access your bookmarks on any computer. So, get a new computer already.

  2. Marie says:

    You’re NOT writing this from the future? WTF.

    Also, I like that wordpress saves my contact info as Marie with my xanga as my link on my computer, and as Joanna Eberhart with my food blog link on this computer. WTF.

    I’d say that if the repairs are upwards of 300, eff it and buy a new one.

  3. Tory says:

    I don’t know anything about Computers. well, i know how to turn one on, and get my Kermit the frog screen saver to load. but thats about it.

    So mostly this comment is useless. Except to say “Hi!” and “Whats up?” and “cheese.”

Leave a Reply

