A return to…?

I’m just going to be upfront about this. I really expect to be fired in the next few weeks. I’m not joking, I’m not over exaggerating. I honeslty and truly expect to be fired.
Why? Well…

…I’d say it mostly has to do with the fact that no one knows, cares, or understands how to communicate with the Western teachers in a way that doesn’t just confuse the everliving hell out of us. (Sadly they got Tek to try and communicate some of these things to us, and we ended up just as confused as before.) A lot of these problems are easily avoidable, but if we don’t know about the problems we can not fix them. For example, as I’ve said before, I’m required to have finished this text book by the end of the semester yet the students weren’t in class for three weeks all of the sudden and I had no prior knowledge of this happening. Now I am three weeks behind.

Another example, classes get randomly reassigned to different teachers yet they expect the same level of teaching quality from us no matter where we are. Random group of kids A and Random group of kids B will NOT always be taught in the same way, especially when they hand you a type of class you have never taught before then get pissy when you have NO CLUE what the fuck you’re doing. Terribly sorry, I thought I was teaching GM/GA/RG/SG classes not random FOGNEOIWHGIOW classes I’ll make sure to know how to teach every class by tomorrow.

The reason things like this happen is that the teachers, by and large, can not communicate with us. Two of them can, really well, and one can decently well. Out of 15. Let me say that again, 12 out of 15 teachers in an ENGLISH academy can NOT speak English. Seriously. This makes for some very… odd and confusing conversations with our Korean counterparts.

All of this, on top of various other things that are too tedious to go into, has made me turn on the apathy mode. We are, quite honestly, not trusted and constantly monitored, looked down upon, disrespected (by teachers and students) given almost no instruction, and are expected to function in Korea on the same level as Koreans. And I don’t deal with that well.

So, I will still do my job. And I will do it well, or try to, as always. But if that isn’t good enough for them, I refuse to break my self esteem and pride for problems that they could remedy if they would just tell me about them. I refuse to acknowledge that their inability to communicate a class change is my fault.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A return to…?

  1. Marie says:

    Guess I need to look into finding you a job and a place to live. I’m on it.

  2. Grilled Cheese says:

    Culture clash anyone..?

    P.S.

    Our econmy in the U.S. is falling apart and unemployment is at record highs… they’re laying people off at my work…

    In other words… you’re not missing much here.

    Stay in SK where all the jobs are.

  3. GDH says:

    Is this more or less worse than… any other job or roughly the same BS magnified by a communication breakdown…

  4. Max says:

    Mmmm…work drama! Always there, always lovely! :-/

    Though its pretty odd that really only 3 of 15 Korean teachers can speak English in what you say is supposed to be an ENGLISH school. There really is something wrong there.

Leave a Reply

