Koreans.

Okay, I get that there are cultural differences. I’m cool with that. And I get that there is a language barrier. I’m cool with that too.

Really.

What is not cool is taking all the western teachers aside on Tuesday, and informing us that we need to make the middle school classes more entertaining (because the parents have been saying they are too boring!) tell us we need to discipline our students better, and generally be more confident. On the surface, these all seem like reasonable demands. Let us go into why they ARE NOT at all.

1) The text book has 12 units, and I have to finish it by the time the semester ends. The semester is 12 weeks. One unit a week, right? Except no one informed me until a DAY before they all left that my middle school students would be gone for THREE weeks. And that my students wouldn’t all be back until the 5th week! So now I am 3 units behind, with about half of my class playing catch up and the rest still not anywhere close to caught up.

2) The students do not listen to me. The students do not respond to me. I can not make a class entertaining if the the little hellions do not even respond. I am speaking a language they do not understand, I can NOT make it entertaining. In addition, because of number 1, I have no time to make it interesting. At all. I can’t.

3) No one informed me this was a problem until three weeks after it had become a problem. Way to let me fix the problem guys.

4) Our classes get randomly reassigned for no apparent reason. Seriously. Next week I fully expect to have another classe of students I have never seen before. How can I build a rapport and teach these kids if I only have them for two classes then they disappear?

/rant off.

Grr.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Suwon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Koreans.

  1. Max says:

    Go go unreasonable demands!

    Seems like your bosses are a bit out of touch!

  2. T says:

    I’ve got quite a few friends teaching English in various places, and every single one of them who have taught in Korea have said the exact same things.

    One of them ended up just playing alot of English Bingo. maybe that will shut the parents up.

  3. Marie says:

    This is why you should come home. Homeland Security job ftw? 🙂

  4. Turner says:

    Clearly you need to resort to ritualistic sacrifice… be that animal or human, it matters not! That’ll shut them up!

    I kid, I kid.

    … or do I?

  5. Grilled Cheese says:

    Unfortunately, that’s life. We had an hour long status meeting this week and when it was over, they informed us a contractor on the team… who we had spent 15 minutes discussing his schedule… was leaving and today was his last day. Consequently, I have more work and the same time frame to complete it. It’s unreasonable… but that’s life… you can only do so much then you have to say “sorry, but I can’t” or “sorry, i didn’t know they were going to leave for 3 weeks or I would have tried to plan better”.

    It will be hard Josh but don’t let it distress you. You need to just do the best you can and try to be happy to be there… if you are then it makes the rest easier.

    As far as being fun, I’m sure google searching for some teaching techniques would bring up a lot of stuff. You could use your prep time or some of your spare time since you’re still not up to a 40/hr work week right?

    Regardless… we need some TF2 time.

  6. Mychael says:

    i agree with turner. make them draw a number and ask a random question…they get the question wrong…they die. or act like you are crazy, periodically step out of the room and have loud arguments with yourself….write backwards on the board and speak to them in pig latin. and of course, throw a desk or two out of the window once or twice a week. i tell you, you can make it entertaining…it all depends on your definition on entertaining.

Leave a Reply

