Surreality

I like making up words, don’t you?

So here’s a crazy phenomenon I’ve noticed, and I’m not sure if it speaks more to globalization of the world or if it speaks more to the fact that I have really great ways of hiding from the truth; but Korea does not seem like a foriegn country. At all.

I’m not sure how to go about explaining this, because I’m fully aware that this isn’t the States. Yet I can walk down the street and get a BigMac, hop over to Home Plus and pick up Smucker’s Jam, and then top it off with a Bud (if I was inclined to drink that piss water.) But it’s more than that, setting aside the language barrier the people act generally the same as they do in the States, perhaps less rude, and they don’t really strike me as foriegn. It could be where I live in Suwon which is the rich part, apparently, which means it has so many more non-Korean influences.

But that still doesn’t explain it.

I think I’m finally coming to accept that Korea will be my home for the next year, and my brain is adjusting to that fact. I’m adjusting to being in Korea, before long Korea won’t be all new and fancy and exciting it will just be home!

How insane is that?

In other news, Korean ramen is about the size of 4 American ramens. That is awesome.

-Snow

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Suwon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surreality

  1. Nicole says:

    I am procrastinating instead of preparing for tomorrow’s lit class (a little Pushkin’s Belkin Tales, anyone?). Having just power-read all of your entries, I’d just like to say: HA! Teaching is hard. Now you’ll have respect for me/us/the profession.

  2. Sarah says:

    Hmm…those must be some big ass servings of Ramen.

  3. Mychael says:

    No, its just that Asian people are smaller in stature than Americans…so the ramen only appears to be larger.

Leave a Reply

