The Adventure Continues!

So where was I?

Ah, yes, the part where I passed out about 5 minutes after I made it to my apartment.

August 24th ??? (local time)

I wake up, startled, someone is knocking on my door. Who the hell is knocking on my door? Why is my bed so hard? Where the hell did that fan come from? Why is there a DOORBELL on my room in Arkansas?

Oh, right. Korea.

I open the door and David, my supervisor’s supervisor, is there. We converse, he assures me everything will be fine, I ask him why I can’t seem to get any hot water. I have no idea why this occurs to me. He checks my gas and informs that I have none. Boo, no hot water. But! He gets on the phone and gets me gas to my apartment on a Sunday! How awesome! Then David takes me to where I’m going to be working tomorrow, it looks almost exactly like a teacher’s work room! GO FIGURE! He shows me around the classrooms, and they look like classrooms. This is very encouraging, I’ve not seen any devices of pain and suffering.

David brings me back to my apartment, informs me April will be picking me up tomorrow before work. Sounds good.

…Except it’s 3 in the afternoon. With no internet, and some of my chargers on the fritz. Time to read!

August 25th 2am (local time)

I’ve been reading ever since.

Sleep takes me.

August 25th 845am (local time)

The open window allows the sounds of the street cleaner to jerk me out of my sleep, there’s no way I’m going to be able to go back to sleep. What else is there to do but read!

August 25th 220pm (local time)

I haven’t eaten today, April grabs me and takes me to work. She points me to a desk in the office and hands me a schedule, David comes over and informs me that I’m going to be teaching a class in a little over two hours.

What?

April informs me that the western teachers will help me out, and then leaves. “Oh shit oh shit oh shit oh shit oh shit” is about the only thing going through my mind at this point. Steen, the Brit, Keith, the Irishman, and Tek Peter and Jeff, the Yanks, all help me with as much as I can possibly glean from them in the twoish hours before class starts.

August 25th 5pm (local time)

Class starts. I stare at my students for a few minutes, not quite sure where to go from here. They ask me where I’m from, how old I am, if I’m married, if I have a girlfriend. The girls all giggle, like mad, when I say I have no girlfriend. I’m not sure if this is good or bad.

Repeat every hour, on the hour, until 9pm.

August 25th 9pm (local time)

April comes up to me and asks me about the class where I administered a test. I told her what I did, and that I let them go about 15 minutes early. Apparently that was a massive no no. Thanks for telling me everyone! It isn’t like I’ve NEVER EVER DONE ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE. In all my classes I’ve ever had when we were done with a test we got let go early. I assumed the same. My fault, to an extent, but come on don’t get pissed at me when you toss me into something with, quite literally, zero instruction and I fuck up.

(Note: Apparently I’m the only western teacher who hasn’t done a week of observation. I declare shenanigans.)

I go home, mildly miffed.

Homesickness hits me very hard as soon as I realize that I can’t whine to Michelle.

Time for sleep.

(Next time, pictures of the apartment! I swear!)

About kylock

Man, biographies are really hard to write because sometimes you just don't know what to write about and then you ramble on pointlessly for a while about your hobbies (video games, reading, programming) and end up boring your readers because they expect something witty and insightful (there are only two ways to save money, neither of which involves hookers) and then readership falls off and you cry yourself to sleep.
This entry was posted in Suwon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Adventure Continues!

  1. Marie says:

    Hawt. Those little Korean girls want you. Yay for 12 year olds!

  2. Marie says:

    Also, I am pretty sure that the reason the Korean airport was deserted is because you just missed the zombie attack.

Leave a Reply

